Winner of T20 World Cup to receive cash prize of 1.6 million dollars


The winner of the upcoming men’s T20 World Cup 2021 will receive a prize money of 1.6 million dollars while the runners-up will get half of the winning amount, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced on Sunday.

Meanwhile, the global cricket body also said that the two losing semifinalists will receive 400,000 dollars each from the matches taking place on November 10 and 11.

On the other hand, all the 16 teams competing in the showpiece event will receive part of the 5.6 million dollars allocated as prize money for the tournament, which will be played in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Oman between October 17 and November 14.

Also like the 2016 edition of the tournament, there will be a bonus amount for every match that a team wins in the Super 12 stage.

The winning team in each of the 30 games in that phase will this time win 40,000 dollars, a total pot of 1,200,000 dollars.

Notably, Afghanistan, Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and the West Indies are the teams confirmed to be featuring in the Super 12 stage.

The eight teams whose men’s T20 World Cup campaigns end at Super 12 stage will automatically receive 70,000 dollars each, totalling to 560,000 dollars.

The four teams knocked out in the first round will be given 40,000 dollars each from an overall 160,000 dollars. Notablt, Bangladesh, Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, and Sri Lanka are the teams in the first round.

The ICC also said that there will be two scheduled drinks intervals in every match of the men’s T20 World Cup, which will last for 2 minutes and 30 seconds and will be taken at the midpoint of each innings.

Also, for the first time ever, the Decision Review System (DRS) will also be used in a men’s T20 World Cup and each team will get a maximum of two reviews per innings in the match.

Earlier as per media reports, the Emirates Cricket Board (ECB) will be paid USD 7 million for hosting 39 games in the UAE while Oman Cricket (OC) will receive a hosting fee of USD 400,000 for hosting six first round games of the showpiece event.

On the other hand, according to a Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) estimate, about which it informed its Apex Council members recently, the Indian board, the designated hosts of the T20 World Cup, will earn a revenue around USD 12 million from the showpiece event.

In a detailed email to the Apex Council members recently, the Indian board had said that of the USD 7 million fee to the ECB, USD 1.5 million is for hosting, USD 5.5 million is the cost for operation and USD 400,000 is the operational cost for the six games in Muscat.

The BCCI meanwhile, also informed the Apex Council that its own surplus will be USD 12 million.

Significantly, the showpiece event was slated to be held in India but was later shifted to the UAE due to the pandemic.

BCCI president Sourav Ganguly had said that considering the uncertainty due to the Covid-19 situation in the country, it was tough for them to take the decision of not holding it in India.

The BCCI will remain the hosts of the event, which will now be held across four venues – Dubai International Stadium, the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi, the Sharjah Stadium, and the Oman Cricket Academy Ground.

News Desk

Read Previous

Shoaib Malik replaces injured Sohaib Maqsood in Pakistan squad for T20 Worlc Cup

Read Next

Deccan Gladiators gears up for Abu Dhabi T10 League

%d bloggers like this: