Star, Disney India Md Madhavan named IBF President

Star and Disney India managing director K Madhavan will replace Sony’s NP Singh as the president of the Indian Broadcast Foundation.

Madhavan has been named the new president of the IBF, being elevated from his present position of the vice-president (Regional Affairs) of the apex organisation representing television broadcasters.

The IBF announced the decision at its 21st Annual General Meeting (AGM) yesterday.

Speaking on his appointment, K. Madhavan said, “It is my honour to lead IBF at a time when the Indian broadcasting sector is going through a tumultuous time, battling the pandemic and instability in the regulatory space. IBF has played an instrumental role in advocating the interests of the sector, and my predecessors have contributed immensely in evolving the foundation’s stature and purpose. I take on this role with a great sense of responsibility and commitment to champion the cause of the broadcasting sector.”

Incumbent N.P. Singh added “I am pleased that someone of the calibre of K. Madhavan is taking over the reins and will lead the foundation. I welcome his selection wholeheartedly. His in-depth knowledge and insights into the sector will help guide the foundation members through these challenging times. I wish him the best in this new endeavour.”

Madhavan oversees Star & Disney India’s television business spanning across entertainment, sports and regional channels and the studios business in India. He is responsible for driving the growth of the business, focussing on innovation and creating compelling content for consumers.

Madhavan was appointed as the new Country Manager of Disney and Star India in December 2019.

The IBF Board has also elected the following office bearers of IBF:-

Vice President-IBF

Rajat Sharma, Vice President-IBF and Chairman, India TV

Siddharth Jain, Managing Director (South Asia), Turner International

Rahul Joshi, Managing Director, Viacom18


Shashi S. Vempati, CEO, Prasar Bharati

Madhavan has been an active member of IBF since 2012 and is also the Chair of CII’s National Committee on media and entertainment for the ongoing year. He started his journey with Star in 2009 and took over as the Managing Director of the Network in January 2020.

The other Directors on the IBF Board are as under:

Aroon Purie, Chairman, TV Today

N P Singh, MD & CEO, Sony Pictures Networks and Director, Bangla Entertainment

I Venkat, Director, Eenadu TV Ltd

Punit Goenka, MD & CEO, Zee Media Corp

Punit Misra, CEO-Domestic Broadcast Business, Zee Entertainment

Rohit Gupta, President (Network Sales and International Business), Sony Pictures Networks

Uday Shankar, President, The Walt Disney Company Asia Pacific and Chairman, Star and Disney India

Megha Tata, Managing Director (South Asia), Discovery Communications India (Co-opted Director)

John Brittas, Managing Director & Chief Editor, Malayalam Communications Ltd (Co-opted Director)

Admin Sportz Front

Read Previous

COVID-19: Lanka Premier League may be delayed further

Read Next

Neetu David to head BCCI’s women’s national selection committee

%d bloggers like this: