Roger Binny succeeds Sourav Ganguly as BCCI President


Former Indian cricketer and member of the 1983 World Cup-winning team – Roger Binny was on Tuesday named as the 36th president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

Binny’s appointment was announced at the board’s AGM in Mumbai. The 67-year-old replaces former India captain Sourav Ganguly. Binny, 67, was the only candidate to have filed nomination for the BCCI president’s post.

The election of the next set of office-bearers was a mere formality as all are set to be elected unopposed.

The other BCCI office bearers, who are elected unanimously include secretary Jay Shah, Ashish Shelar (treasurer), Rajeev Shukla (vice-president) and Devajit Saikia (join secretary). Meanwhile, outgoing BCCI treasurer Arun Dhumal will be the new IPL chairman.

In his recent stint, Binny was the President of the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA).

Notably, Binny was one of the architects of India’s historic World Cup triumph in 1983. During the tournament, Binny played eight games and took 18 wickets, the highest in that edition of prestigious tournament.

Earlier, Binny has served as member of the BCCI senior selection committee when Sandeep Patil was the chairman.

On the other hand, reports suggested that Ganguly, who had a lot of meetings with the stakeholders in New Delhi, last week was keen to continue as the BCCI President but he was told that there is no precedence of giving a second term to the Board president.

News Desk

Read Previous

Afghanistan to tour Sri Lanka for 3-match ODI series in November

Read Next

Sony Pictures Networks bags exclusive Television & Digital rights for DFB-Pokal

%d bloggers like this: