Meg Lanning to miss upcoming home series against West Indies; Alyssa Healy to lead Australia

Australia’s regular skipper Meg Lanning will miss the upcoming T20I and ODI Series against the West Indies next month and in her absence, Alyssa Healy will be once again leading the side with star all-rounder Tahlia McGrath as her deputy.

Notably, Cricket Australia announced a 13-player squad for the upcoming white-ball series against West Indies women.

Earlier in May this year, Lanning was ruled out of the Ashes and later missed the subsequent ODI series in Ireland due to medical reasons and remains unavailable for selection as determined by CA’s medical team.

“Healy (finger injury) and Ellyse Perry (knee injury) both missed the third ODI against Ireland due to injury but are expected to be fully available for the West Indies series. Meg Lanning remains unavailable for selection as determined by Cricket Australia’s medical team,” Cricket Australia said in a statement.

Australian Women’s Team Doctor, Dr Pip Inge said: “Meg is progressing well but remains unavailable for competitive cricket. No date has been set for Meg’s return to play, however, we anticipate a gradual return through domestic cricket.

“CA medical staff will continue to work closely with Meg and an update on her availability will be providedinduecourse.”

The upcoming series will be held across Sydney, Brisbane and Melbourne with the first T20I to be played at North Sydney Oval on October 1.

Notably, it will for the first time when the reigning world champions will be in action on home soil since the 2023 T20 World Cup victory and retaining the Women’s Ashes.

Australia squad: Alyssa Healy (c), Tahlia McGrath (vc), Darcie Brown, Ashleigh Gardner, Kim Garth, Grace Harris (T20Is only), Jess Jonassen, Alana King (ODIs only), Phoebe Litchfield, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Georgia Wareham

T20I series schedule:

First T20: October 1, Sydney

Second T20: October 2, Sydney

Third T20: October 5, Brisbane

ODI series schedule:

First ODI: October 8, Brisbane

Second ODI: October 12, Melbourne

First ODI: October 14, Melbourne

News Desk

Read Previous

Ben Stokes to undergo knee surgery post-World Cup 2023, likely to miss India tour next year

Read Next

India’s Nitin Menon, Javagal Srinath among 20 match officials for ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

%d bloggers like this: