IPL 2022 from last week of March; Mega Auction on Feb 12-13: Jay Shah

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) secretary Jay Shah on Saturday announced that the 2022 season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will begin in the last week of March and will conclude in May.

After a meeting with the owners of the franchises of the league, Shah in an official statement said: “I am delighted to confirm that the 15th season of the IPL will start in the last week of March and will run until May end. A majority of the team owners expressed their wish that the tournament be held in India. The BCCI was always keen on staging the 2022 edition that will see two new teams – Ahmedabad and Lucknow – in India,”

“I can tell you that we will leave no stone unturned in ensuring that IPL stays in India. The BCCI has not compromised on the health and safety of its stakeholders in the past and will concurrently work on Plan B since the COVID-19 situation with new variants remains fluid. The mega IPL Auction will take place on February 12-13th and we will lock in venues before that,” he added.

The BCCI secretary however, didn’t announced the venue of the mega auctions however, several reports suggest that the two-day affair is most likely to be staged in Bengaluru.

Earlier following the end of the registration for the 2022 player auction on January 20, 1,214 players had registered for the two-day event..

Of the 1,214 players, 896 are Indians while the remaining 318 are overseas, who have signed up for the auction.

The upcoming IPL 2022 mega auction will see the newly inducted franchises — Ahmedabad and Lucknow — entering the bandwagon.

Of the list, 61 are capped Indian players while 209 are capped international cricketers. 143 players are uncapped Indians who were a part of previous IPL seasons, while six players are uncapped internationals who were a part of previous IPL seasons. In terms of uncapped players, 692 players from India and 62 international players have registered themselves.

Earlier, a total of 33 players were either retained or picked ahead of the auctions,

Notably, the existing eight IPL franchises have retained a total of 27 players while the two new IPL teams (Ahmedabad and Lucknow) have picked six players (three each) ahead of the auction.

List of IPL Retention:

CSK: Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni, Moeen Ali and Ruturaj Gaikwad.

DC: Rishabh Pant, Axar Patel, Prithvi Shaw and Anrich Nortje.

KKR: Andre Russell, Varun Chakravarthy, Venkatesh Iyer and Sunil Narine.

MI: Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Suryakumar Yadav and Kieron Pollard.

PBKS: Mayank Agarwal and Arshdeep Singh.

RR: Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler and Yashasvi Jaiswal.

RCB: Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell and Mohammed Siraj.

SRH: Kane Williamson, Abdul Samad and Umran Malik.

Ahmedabad Franchise: Hardik Pandya, Rashid Khan and Shubman Gill.

Lucknow Franchise: KL Rahul, Marcus Stoinis and Ravi Bishnoi.

News Desk

Read Previous

Ahmedabad, Kolkata to host upcoming white-ball series against West Indies

Read Next

PCB issues new playing conditions, general guidelines for PSL 7

%d bloggers like this: