India tour of West Indies from July 12

Cricket West Indies (CWI) has announced the schedule for India’s tour of the Caribbean, set to begin from July 12, comprising two Tests, three ODIs and five T20Is.

India last toured West Indies for an all-format tour in 2019, winning the series in all formats and had made a white-ball-only trip last year, emerging victorious in both series.

As per the schedule announced on Monday, India’s tour of the West Indies will begin with two Tests, which will also kick-off the 2023-2025 ICC World Test Championship (WTC) cycle. Windsor Park in Dominica will host the first Test between July 12-16, followed by the second Test at Queen’s Park Oval in Trinidad from July 20. Intrestingly, the second Test will also mark the 100th Test match between India and West Indies.

“We are delighted to be able to confirm the schedule and venues for the highly anticipated visit by India. One of the highlights will be the 100th Test at the Queen’s Park Oval and this promises to be a fantastic occasion as we celebrate this historic event between these two proud cricketing nations,” said Johnny Grave, CEO of CWI.

The Test series will then be followed by a three-game ODI Series, with the first two matches at Kensington Oval in Barbados on July 27 and 29 while the third ODI will be played on August 1 at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Trinidad and will be the first ODI involving West Indies at the venue.

The T20I series will commence at Brian Lara Cricket Academy on August 3, followed by the second and third T20Is at the Guyana National Stadium on August 6 and 8.

The series will finally come to an end at Lauderhill, Florida, USA with the fourth and fifth T20Is on August 12 and 13 to be hosted by Broward County Cricket Stadium.

“We also look forward to hosting India in the white-ball fixtures and welcoming fans to attend the matches across the region, as well as in the United States. It will be 18 days of entertainment for cricket lovers to enjoy and savour,” concluded Grave.

News Desk

Read Previous

East Bengal FC signs winger Nandhakumar Sekar on three-year contract

Read Next

Defender Mehtab Singh signs contract extension with Mumbai City FC until 2026

%d bloggers like this: