India squads named for tour of Australia, Rahul vice-captain for white ball series

The All-India Senior Selection Committee met via video-conference on Monday to select the Indian Cricket Team for the upcoming Tour of Australia.

Virat Kohli will lead Team India on the tour, involving three T20Is, three ODIs and four Test matches against Australia. KL Rahul, leading Kings XI Punjab with conviction, will be Kohli’s deputy for the two white ball series. Ajinkya Rahane will be the vice-captain for the Test series.

Injured Rohit Sharma and Ishan Sharma have been ruled out for the tour.

Rishabh Pant is ignored for the limited overs’ series, while Wriddhiman Shah will be the first choice wicketkeeper for Test matches, though Pant is named in the squad as the second wicketkeeper.

Sanju Samson gets the call for the T20I series as the second wicketkeeper alongside Rahul.

T20I squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (vice-captain and wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Varun Chakravarthy

Team India ODI squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (vice-captain & wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur

Team India Test squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Mohd. Siraj

Four additional bowlers – Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Kartik Tyagi, Ishan Porel and T. Natarajan – will travel with the Indian contingent.

The BCCI Medical Team will continue to monitor the progress of Rohit Sharma and Ishant Sharma.

Admin Sportz Front

Read Previous

ISL: Kerala Blasters launch 3 personal hygiene products with Haeal

Read Next

ISL: Mumbai City secure Cy Goddard on loan from Italy’s Benevento Calcio

%d bloggers like this: