Gujarat Titans to host its inaugural event at Narendra Modi Stadium on March 13

Newly inducted Indian Premier League (IPL) francshie Gujarat Titans has announced to host their inaugural event at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad on March 13 (Sunday).

Issuing a statement, the Titans said: “Being the world’s largest cricket stadium and the team’s home ground, the event will echo the spirit of the Gujarat Titans and the legacy of the state they represent. The event will be graced by the players, partners and other dignitaries.”

“After being the first team to launch its logo on The Metaverse, Gujarat Titans will set another benchmark with the launch of the team jersey during this event, designed to elicit active fan engagement. With the Metaverse launch, Gujarat Titans sketched an exemplary mark in introducing a dedicated virtual space for its global community of fans and players. Building on its logo launch on The Metaverse, the jersey launch will also be a trendsetter for India’s sporting community,” it added.

As one of the latest entrants into the cash-rich league, Gujarat Titans have been creating a lot of buzz with their team building and the pioneering efforts they have taken in terms of fan engagement.

Signing up of Hardik Pandya, Shubman Gill, and Rashid Khan in January 2022 followed by the selection of a host of international and domestic stars at the auction, has created a well-balanced squad with a mixture of youth and experience.

The team is all set for its debut season which will be preceded by a pre-season camp at its iconic home stadium at Ahmedabad.

Notably, the 2022 IPL season will be played in a bio-secure environment at a single hub to avoid air travel, considered as a major threat for the spread of COVID-19 infection, thereby affecting the players and tournament.

While 55 matches are scheduled to be held in Mumbai, the remaining 15 games will be staged in Pune while the playoffs’ venues haven’t been decided yet. Is most likley that the Narendra Modi Stadium in Motera, Ahmedabad will stage the playoffs however, no official announcement has been made yet.

In the upcoming season, the 10 teams have been divided into two groups. While Group A comprises of Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals and Lucknow Super Giants, Group B includes Chennai Super Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Punjab Kings and Gujarat Titans.

From this year onwards, the lucrative league will be a ten-team affair following the addition of the two new teams – Ahmedabad and Lucknow and will have a total of 74 games.

Earlier in October 2021, international investment firm – CVC Capital – had bagged the ownership rights of the Gujarat-based franchise for Rs 5625 crores.

News Desk

Read Previous

Usha International announces partnership with Mumbai Indians for 9th consecutive year

Read Next

Rajasthan Royals sign Lasith Malinga as fast bowling coach ahead of IPL 2022

%d bloggers like this: