FIFA reveals new payment model for Women’s WC 2023

World football governing body — FIFA — had announced its new member association distribution model for the upcoming Women’s World Cup 2023, scheduled to be held jointly in Australia and New Zealand, with at least 30,000 U.S. dollars to be distributed to each player for participating in the tournament.

According to the new financial allocation announced by the federation, each player will receive 30,000 U.S. dollars for the group stage, while the champions will have 270,000 U.S. dollars for each player, with the prize money each player gets between round of 16 and runners-up varying from 60,000 to 195,000 U.S. dollars.

The world governing body said that the initiative will mark another concrete step to develop women’s football and ensure players receive a fair deal, a commitment that it hopes sets a standard across the industry.

“Under this unprecedented new distribution model, each individual player at the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 can now fully rely on remuneration for their efforts as they progress through the tournament,” said FIFA president Gianni Infantino.

As per the new model, every member association participating in the event will get at least 1.56 million U.S. dollars while the winners will be rewarded 4.29 million U.S. dollars.

According to FIFA, its total investment in the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 is budgeted to go beyond 500 million U.S. dollars.

News Desk

Read Previous

Steve Smith equals Joe Root’s tally for most Test hundreds against India

Read Next

Sportiqo registers increase in user base by four times during IPL 2023

%d bloggers like this: