Champions of ICC World Test Championship to take home a purse of $1.6 million

India and Australia are all set to face off in the ICC World Test Championship (WTC) Final 2023 and with just few days left for the mega event, the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Friday announced that the winner of the competition will take home a winners’ prize fund $1.6 million (approx 13.21 crore).

The ICC on Friday said that the huge prize money will be the major incentive for both teams other than the crowning glory in the longest format of the game. As per the governing body, the losing finalists will pocket $800,000 (Rs 6.50 crore).

The much-awaited decider will be held at The Oval, London between June 7 and 11 June.

In the inaugural WTC, the Kane Williamson-led New Zealand side was rewarded with $1.6 million besides the glittering Mace in Southampton two years ago, thanks to an eight-wicket victory over India in the six-day final.

Meanwhile, all the nine participants of the ICC World Test Championship 2021-23 will receive a share in the $3.8 million purse. Third placed South Africa have earned $450,000 while England, who made a late resurgence in the two-year cycle with an aggressive playing style, ended up fourth on the table to receive a reward of $350,000.

Sri Lanka, who were in the running for a place in the final before their series defeat in New Zealand, dropped down to the fifth spot and will settle with a prize money share of $200,000.

Significantly, sixth-placed New Zealand, seventh-placed Pakistan, eighth-placed West Indies and ninth-placed Bangladesh will be given $100,000 each.

News Desk

Read Previous

Sony Sports Network to broadcast Roland Garros 2023

Read Next

Pope gears up to lead England in Tests if Stokes misses out due to fitness

%d bloggers like this: