Bangladesh to tour South Africa for 3 ODIs, 2 Tests in March


Bangladesh will be touring South Africa for three ODIs and two Tests in March, Cricket South Africa (CSA) announced on Wednesday (February 9).

The matches will be played between March 18 to April 12 across four venues. While the SuperSport Park will host the first and the third ODI of the series, the Imperial Wanderers will be the venue for the second match of the series.

The two teams will then move to Durban for the Test series. While Kingsmead will host the first Test from March 31, St. George’s Park Cricket Ground in Gqeberha will host the second and final Test from April 8.

“Cricket South Africa (CSA) is pleased to announce the finalised dates and venues for the Proteas men’s inbound tour against Bangladesh. The tour will consist of a three-match, Betway One-Day International and two-match, Betway Test series across four venues from 18 March to 12 April 2022,” the CSA said in a statement.

The tour is of great significance for the hosts, as both series count for vital points in the ICC Cricket
World Cup Super League and the ICC World Test Championship.

A Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) official said the tourists are expected to stay in Johannesburg during the tour.

After hosting the Bangla Tigers, South Africa’s next international commitment will be a away series with India. South Africa will be touring India for a five-match T20I rubber in June, which will be after the upcoming edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

The five matches of the T20I series will be held on June 9 (MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai), June 12 (M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru), June 14 (Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur), June 17 (Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot, Rajkot) and June 19 (Arun Jaitley Stadium, New Delhi).

Bangladesh Tour of South Africa Schedule:

1st ODI – Friday, March 18 13:00 Local Time, SuperSport Park, Centurion

2nd ODI – Sunday, March 20, 10:00 Local Time, Imperial Wanderers, Johannesburg

3rd ODI – Wednesday, March 23 13:00 Local Time, SuperSport Park, Centurion

1st Test – Thursday, March 31 – April 4, 100 AM Local Time Kingsmead, Durban

2nd Test – Friday, April 8 -12, 10:00 AM Local Time, St. George’s Park Cricket Ground, Gqeberha

News Desk

Read Previous

Australia tour of New Zealand cancelled due to Covid-19

Read Next expands LaLiga roster as Sevilla FC announce fan token partnership

%d bloggers like this: