Aussie cricketers to raise funds for Covid-19 relief in India through gaming

Some of the top Australia cricketers will display their video-gaming skills in a bid to raise $100,000 for Covid-19 relief fund in India on Thursday and the amount raised will go to UNICEF Australia’s India COVID-19 Crisis Appeal.

Pat Cummins, Mitch Starc, Josh Hazlewood and Nathan Lyon will be on live stream as they will talk cricket and play video games in an initiative which is the brainchild of domestic cricketer Josh Lalor.

As per the programme, from 5pm AEST (12.30 pm India time) on Thursday night until 5am AEST (12.30 am India time) the following morning, Lalor will be joined by a host of cricketers like Moises Henriques, women cricketer Alyssa Healy and South African Rilee Rossouw.

“The enjoyable thing about it is it’ll be a couple of guys doing what they do in their spare time, which the public don’t get to see a lot of,” Lalor was quoted as saying by cricket.com.au.

“We see Pat Cummins doing what he does on the cricket field, but he’s one of the worst (video game) players you can play with! Which is fair enough because he’s busy doing other things in cricket, The intent will be to be playing games, but also talk a bit of cricket as well. It’ll be a nice way to engage and see a different side to these guys,” he added.

The 12-hour show will also include interview of Cricket Australia’s newly-appointed Chief Executive Officer, Nick Hockley.

News Desk

Read Previous

Parthiv underlines New Zealand’s biggest strength in WTC Final

Read Next

Ravi Shastri bats for ‘best of three’ WTC final

%d bloggers like this: