Arch-rivals India, Pakistan slotted in same group of T20 World Cup


Arch-rivals India and Pakistan have been slotted in the same group for the upcoming T20 World Cup, scheduled to be held in the UAE and Oman from October 17.

The groups were selected by the ICC on the basis of team rankings as of 20 March 2021.

Defending champions West Indies has been put in Group 1 of the Super 12s along with former champions England, Australia and South Africa, with two qualifiers from Round 1 joining them.

On the other hand, Group 2 will comprise former champions India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan and the other two qualifiers from Round 1.

Originally slated to host the tournament, there will now have to be a change in strategy for Virat Kohli and his team ahead of the showpiece event in Oman and UAE.

Currently number two in the rankings, India are well stacked in terms of depth in all their departments ahead of the game.

Their players will have some T20 match practice ahead of the tournament, with the IPL concluding days before the start of the World Cup in the UAE.

In terms of form, they last beat England 3-2 in a five-match T20I series in their home conditions in Ahmedabad. Their best performance to date remains the inaugural edition of the tournament in 2007, where they were crowned Champions.

On the other hand, Pakistan will be heading into the tournament, quietly confident of tasting glory.

The men in green have some dangerous campaigners in their ranks, including the skipper, who is one of the best in the business.

They last played a series against Zimbabwe, winning it 2-1.

Pakistan had won the tournament in 2009.

News Desk

Read Previous

PCB urges New Zealand Cricket for 2 additional T20Is during upcoming series

Read Next

IOA names Sports For All as official partner of Indian Olympic contingent

%d bloggers like this: