Adam Milne offered New Zealand central contract after five years

New Zealand pacer Adam Milne has been offered central contract for the first time in five years.

Milne’s inclusion in list comes off the back of his fantastic international season, where he featured 16 times for the Black Caps (11 T20Is and five ODIs), scalping 24 wickets at an average of 24, including a career-best 5/26 in the second T20I against Sri Lanka, the third best T20I figures by a Kiwi bowler.

Milne, 31, who made his international debut in 2010, was part of the New Zealand squad in the past two ICC T20 World Cup campaigns.

Commenting on the development, New Zealand head coach Gary Stead said Milne’s offer of a central contract was well-deserved and reflected his strong and ongoing commitment to play international cricket for New Zealand.

“Adam’s worked exceptionally hard and has shown good resilience over the past few years to be in a position to earn this contract offer,” Stead was quoted as saying by New Zealand Cricket (NZC).

“He’s always been a top-class bowler and we were impressed by his consistent contributions in the recent home summer and tour of Pakistan,” he added.

Meanwhile, the list also witnesses the retainment of Finn Allen, Mark Chapman, and Blair Tickner after joining last year’s list mid-season, replacing Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme and Martin Guptill.

Notably, the trio of Boult, Grandhomme and Guptill were granted releases.

However, spinner Ajaz Patel, who featured in the list last year but featured in just two Tests during the period, has not been denied a central contract.

Coming to Boult, while was declined a central contract, has committed to be available for New Zealand for part of the playing programme and, on that basis, has been offered a casual playing agreement. Under the terms of the Master Agreement, the players have until June 12 to accept or decline the contract offers.

Players offered central contracts for 2023/24:

Finn Allen, Tom Blundell, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson and Will Young.

News Desk

Read Previous

Despite contract decline, Trent Boult ready to play for New Zealand

Read Next

Disney Star breaches 500 million mark during IPL 2023

%d bloggers like this: