1,214 players sign for IPL 2022 auction

Following the end of the registration for the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 player auction on January 20, 1,214 players have registered for the two-day event, the tournament said in an official advisory.

Of the 1,214 players, 896 are Indians while the remaining 318 are overseas, who have signed up for the auction.

The upcoming IPL 2022 mega auction will see the newly inducted franchises — Ahmedabad and Lucknow — entering the bandwagon. Even as the Indian board is yet to make an official announcement, it has been learnt that the event could be staged in Bengaluru on February 12 and 13.

Of the list, 61 are capped Indian players while 209 are capped international cricketers. 143 players are uncapped Indians who were a part of previous IPL seasons, while six players are uncapped internationals who were a part of previous IPL seasons. In terms of uncapped players, 692 players from India and 62 international players have registered themselves.

From the 318 overseas players on the long list, spread across 18 countries, Australia leads with 59 players followed by 48 from South Africa, 41 from West Indies, 36 from Sri Lanka, 30 from England, 29 from New Zealand, 20 from Afghanistan, 15 from Nepal and 14 from USA.

Other nations whose cricketers have registered for the IPL 2022 player auctions are Bangladesh (nine), Namibia (five), Oman and Ireland (three each), Zimbabwe (two), Bhutan, Netherlands, Scotland and the UAE (one each).

Earlier, a total of 33 players were either retained or picked ahead of the auctions,

Notably, the existing eight IPL franchises have retained a total of 27 players while the two new IPL teams (Ahmedabad and Lucknow) have picked six players (three each) ahead of the auction.

List of IPL Retention:

CSK: Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni, Moeen Ali and Ruturaj Gaikwad.

DC: Rishabh Pant, Axar Patel, Prithvi Shaw and Anrich Nortje.

KKR: Andre Russell, Varun Chakravarthy, Venkatesh Iyer and Sunil Narine.

MI: Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Suryakumar Yadav and Kieron Pollard.

PBKS: Mayank Agarwal and Arshdeep Singh.

RR: Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler and Yashasvi Jaiswal.

RCB: Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell and Mohammed Siraj.

SRH: Kane Williamson, Abdul Samad and Umran Malik.

Ahmedabad Franchise: Hardik Pandya, Rashid Khan and Shubman Gill.

Lucknow Franchise: KL Rahul, Marcus Stoinis and Ravi Bishnoi.

News Desk

Read Previous

PSL 2022: 3 players, 5 support staffs of different franchises test positive for Covid-19

Read Next

Ahmedabad, Kolkata to host upcoming white-ball series against West Indies

%d bloggers like this: