WTC Final winner to receive 1.6 million USD along with mace


The winner of the inaugural World Test Championship (WTC) final between India and New Zealand will take home a purse of $ 1.6 million along with the ICC Test Championship Mace, the global cricket goevrning body has announced.

Issuing a statement, the ICC said: “The losing team will get $ 800,000 for finishing second in the nine-team competition, which was played over a near two-year cycle, adding context to Test cricket and to crown the first official world champions in the longest format of the game.”

“The prize money for the team finishing third in the ICC World Test Championship Standings Powered by MRF Tyres is $ 450,000. The team fourth on the table will be awarded $ 350,000, the one that finishes fifth gets $ 200,000 while the remaining four teams will get $ 100,000 each,” it added.

The ICC further said: “The Test Mace, previously given to teams topping the MRF Tyres ICC Men’s Test Team Rankings will now be given to the WTC winners. In case the final ends in a draw or a tie, the finalists will split the prize money for the first and second places and share possession of the Mace during the time they remain champions,” the ICC statement further added.

The 2019 World Cup-winning team was awarded $4 million, while the runners-up got $ 2 million.

The much-awaited final of the WTC will be played from June 18 in Southampton, England.

News Desk

Read Previous

Sky Sports signs content rights deals with Top Rank, BOXXER

Read Next

ICC to continue with percentage of points system for 2021-23 WTC cycle: ICC CEO

%d bloggers like this: